Michael Leonhardt Orchestra at Jazz Standard

August 14, 2019


For its ninth consecutive monthly appearance on Jazz Standard stage hails the return of the electrifying Michael Leonhart Orchestra (MLO). The program was The Blue Note Records Suite Part 2 featuring the compositions of Kenny Dorham, Eric Dolphy, John Scofield, Bobby Hutcherson, and others. This genrecrossing 15piece ensemble features players from such name aggregations as the DapKings, the Mingus Big Band, the Maria Schneider Orchestra, and the Tonight Show band (The Roots), performing both Leonharts original compositions and his arrangements of songs by WuTang, Duke Ellington, and more. Breaking down the barrier between pop, rock, funk, jazz, classical, abstract, musique concrète its all expression.


Michael Leonhart – conductor, trumpet
Dave Guy, Scott Wendholt, Jordan McLean, Carter Yasutake – trumpet
Ray Mason – trombone
Jeff Nelson – bass trombone
Sam Sadigursky, Ian Hendrickson-Smith, Jason Marshall – saxophone
Sara Schoenbeck – bassoon
Pauline Kim – violin
Jake Charkey – cello
Robbie Mangano – guitar
Nathan Koci – accordion
Joe Martin – bass
E.J. Strickland – drums
Elizabeth Pupo-Walker – percussion
Daniel Freedman – percussion






Please reload

Featured Posts

Inner Rhyme - Layale Chaker & Sarafand - Best World Music Album Grammy Awards Nominations (First Round)

September 30, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags